Quick Tip: Where to Look at Your Local Used Bookstore 

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – foreign language kids sections are a goldmine.

For years I always checked the language learning sections only to realize I had all the dictionaries and grammar guides I needed. Then I would try the adjoining French language adult fiction section only to realize I could barely understand a paragraph let alone a page.

For beginners or intermediates, I highly suggest you look in the foreign language section of the children’s area! Spanish kids and young adult novels are usually present in new bookstores across the United States, but at used bookstores and local libraries it’s not uncommon to also find French, German, and other languages.

My most recent find? This vintage Donald Duck comic collection from the lovely and cleverly named The Last Bookstore in downtown LA.


High brow? Maybe not. Busy accessible, comprehensible and only $2.00? I’m stoked and you will be too.

What are your best foreign language book finds?

À plus tard,
Zena

2 comments

  1. zipfslaw1 · February 28, 2016

    “The Last Bookstore” is very nice. Next time you’re in Paris, there’s a very ugly but really good used bookstore called “Book-Off” at 11 rue Monsigny, 75002 Paris. (Careful not to confuse it with the Japanese bookstore across the street, or you’ll be disappointed.) They have an incredible selection of used children’s and Young Adult books. Harry Potter, Hunger Games, Twilight, stuff like that–I bet you’d like it a lot. Not to say that you’re a big YA person–but, I find that kind of stuff soooo much easier to read in French.

    Like

  2. Anne Donnelly · February 28, 2016

    I love reading Harry Potter in French! I know it well enough in English to have tons of context clues, so I’m not constantly searching a dictionary for vocab…

    Like

Leave a Reply

