My New Favorite Youtube Series For French Learners

YO! (Is there a French yo? Because I need that yo real bad to tell you how excited I am about this.)

Three reasons I love this video, and can’t wait to watch the rest on the channel:

  1. Incredibly helpful and accessible tips on how to make your French more colloquial. Nobody likes to sound like a robot after all their hard hours of study.
  2. I took a class with this guy at Fluent City in Brooklyn!  Well, technically Damon only subbed for my Intermediate French class once — but I immediately recognized him while browsing Youtube because he made such an impression on me as a student. Serious accent-envy.
  3. Working a “Drop That Thun Thun Thun” reference into a language lesson deserves serious kudos and amens.

And so, without further ado, “How To Sound Cooler in French” by Damon and Jo:

Do you have other Youtubers you go to for French lessons? Drop it in the comments!

À plus tard,

Zena

7 comments

  1. Anne Donnelly · November 5, 2015

    Geraldine from Comme une Française makes fantastic videos about colloquial French and topics on daily life etc. She often highlights other French language YouTubers…pretty sure she spoke to Damian and Jo in one episode!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • zenawoz · November 5, 2015

      Merci, Anne! J’ai regardé quelques vidéos par elle ce matin! Ce sont vraiment utile.

      Like

  2. MELewis · November 6, 2015

    This video takes me back a few years – I learned all that stuff while trying to decode conversations with family and friends in Paris. It can be painful to discover that the real French is so different from what they teach. Sure would’ve been nice to have YouTube back then! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. YouGetThePic · November 16, 2015

    There is not really a “yo” here but we smile and say coucou all the time
    and so sorry but the video is mentioning these 2 they do not really sound like people here in France 😉 sorry
    I will put up al ink if I knew one!

    Liked by 1 person

    • YouGetThePic · November 16, 2015

      * a link if I know one *
      The 2 just sound very American, I could tell right away.. I know it is hard but just saying 😉

      Like

    • casserlenoyau · November 18, 2015

      Coucou! Ahh okay, it’s good to hear that even advanced sounding speakers to American ears still have some things they could work on. In what way do they sound different? The vocabulary they use? Or accents? In any case, I like their attitude about travel and language learning and will keep watching but also be on the hunt for more french learning video series! Merci!

      Like

  4. zipfslaw1 · February 28, 2016

    Indeed, that’s a good one. I like the “Learn French With Pascal” YouTube videos quite a bit–he does a really good job of explaining things that I find difficult to wrap my head around otherwise. Here’s his channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/lsfrench.

    Like

Leave a Reply

