12 Week Language Learning Challenge

12 Week Challenge

For years and years I thought I hated any and all forms of working out. Then somehow I decided I wanted to give running a try. It did not come easily to me. I huffed and puffed and ran slower than any little old lady you’ve ever seen, but I made it through a 12 week training program for a 5k, and then again for a 10k. In a few days, I’ll be starting a 12 week training for my first half-marathon.

Thinking about how well working on a set schedule has worked for me with running, I thought I’d go ahead and make one for language learning. The one above is what I personally aspire to stick to, but it would work just as well if you only wanted to do thirty minutes a day or three days a week instead of five. Can’t commit to 12 week? Try six! Work your way up! The point is just to give yourself some sort of varied structure to look forward to and keep you stimulated throughout your language journey.

A few of the tools I’ll be using to implement this plan:

Classes: I’m signed up for an intermediate class at my local Alliance Française but there’s always independent language schools (I took classes at Fluent City in New York and would recommend them), private tutors, and community colleges for an affordable option.

Reading: I always liked the idea of reading in French but was off-put the second I actually opened a copy of a French novel. The solution? CHILDREN’S BOOKS! I like to pick up a few picture books from the library while also working my way through a small chapter book. Right now I’m reading Charlotte’s Web, or “Le Petit Monde du Charlotte,” by E.B. White. I still have to stop and look up words all the time but they’re mostly farm words so I don’t feel too bad about it. Other authors I’ve got my sights set on are Roald Dahl, Beverly Cleary, and Laura Ingalls Wilder. So they’re not exactly French… but with Amazon it’s easy to find used copies of translations and personally, I find it helpful to read books I am familiar with but don’t remember word for word.

Conversation & Writing: Hellloooo iTalki! I first heard about this website from The Iceberg Project and have been poking around on it all week. Once you set up a profile you can post writing and have it corrected by native speakers, ask questions about vocabulary or grammar, and set up Skype dates with language exchange partners and tutors. I posted a paragraph two night ago and by the next morning there were already two different corrected versions for me to see my mistakes! I’ve put in a request for my first paid one-on-one conversation tutoring and will report back on how it goes. So far it seems like a really great resource.

It’s also worth looking for conversation meet-ups in your city! I was surprised there were so many French ones in Portland. If your google search comes up empty, you can always check on Meetup.

Listening: Someone mentioned to me that I should start listening to French Radio and it has made my commute to and from work soooo much more fun. I’ve been using the French Radio app which also has German and Italian counterparts, but I’m sure there are more for other languages.

Alright! Hope this was of some help. I would love to hear from anyone who gives this a try and will be checking back in frequently myself.

À plus tard!

Zena

14 comments

  1. trailingmrs · March 22, 2015

    This is the sort of advice I have been looking for all week! Thank you for the helpful tips and I hope you’re enjoying your challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jetgirlcos · March 23, 2015

    C’est fantastique, ça! Merci de suivre mon blog. J’utilise les mêmes methodes que vous, je quoi! J’ai hâte de lire votre blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Artem Nazarov · March 25, 2015

    That’s funny, but a couple of days ago I was thinking about doing the same 90-day challenge in French 🙂 Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • casserlenoyau · March 25, 2015

      Oui, c’est drôle ça. Bonne chance à toi aussi! Moi, j’étais heureuse de voir ton blog bilingue. Il est très utile! J’espère pouvoir écrire en français aussi bien que toi un jour!

      Like

  4. Matteo Teaches Italian · March 28, 2015

    These points are true, not matter the language you are gonna learn

    Liked by 1 person

    • casserlenoyau · March 31, 2015

      I hope so Matteo! I loved taking Italian classes also and will be resuming my studies in it after I master French 🙂

      Like

  5. Pingback: The Struggle Is Real: Conversation Practice on iTalki for the First Time | casser le noyau
  6. the_everending · March 30, 2015

    These are great tips! In addition to italki, there’s now Speaky – which is basically a slimmed-down version that just allows you to connect with language partners and practice on their inside voice and video platforms.
    In addition to children’s fiction, primary and middle school textbooks are also a great resource (if you can get your hands on them). I bought a bunch of 7th grade “study guides” while living in China, and it really helped me understand (and learn the phrases for) the way students are taught to approach certain topics in their mother tongue.

    Liked by 1 person

    • casserlenoyau · March 31, 2015

      Thanks so much for the tips! I am checking out Speaky right now and love the idea of middle school textbooks. Will be checking out your blog as well and am excited to read more about your experience teaching in China!

      Like

  7. Mikel Maine · March 31, 2015

    It looks like you’re one organized, aspiring polyglot! (Or full polyglot? This is the first of your blog that I’ve read!) Go get ’em! I’ve always wanted to learn French but its never happened. If you’re motivated though, I believe you can be fluent in a year (or less!) and it looks like motivation is one thing you are by no means lacking! 祝你好运! Good luck! (And thanks for visiting 73,000!)

    Like

    • casserlenoyau · April 1, 2015

      Ahh if only I were one already! Polyglot in training. I’ve taken a couple of languages but never felt very competent in any. Working on changing that! I really liked that you set a long term goal for the year 2020! My own list of languages I’d like to master is: French, Italian, and Mandarin. Thank you for visiting also and your words of encouragement! I wish you luck also in your language learning process and look forward to following your progress!

      Like

  8. Pingback: Translation of the Day: Charlotte’s Web | casser le noyau
  9. Pingback: Translation of the Day: Charlotte’s Web – Frenchification
  10. Pingback: The Struggle Is Real: Conversation Practice on iTalki for the First Time – Frenchification

Leave a Reply

